République tchèque

City and regions of Lithuania


Territorial organisation of the State and local authorities

Lithuania's territory is divided into 10 regions (apskritis) with the governors at their head. The governors of the regions are named by the government and represent all the ministers. They coordinate government activities in the regions with the help of their own administration and they collaborate with the territorial services of certain ministries. Unlike France, the governors are not competent to control local community decisions. Another institution, the regional government representative, is responsible for controlling the legality of the juridical acts of local authorities. Since the last administrative reform, there are 60 local public authorities in Lithuania which enjoy a certain autonomy defined by law.

Municipalities consist of 546 elderships.


Main cities of Lithuania

  • Vilnius (548 835)
  • Kaunas (348 624)
  • Klaipėda (182 752)
  • Šiauliai (125 453)
  • Panevėžys (111 959)

Related articles

Tourism in Lithuania

Onlne-Lithuania.com - All rights reserved- Our offers -